FIFA Best Player Of The Year: See Who Ronaldo, Messi, Rooney and Others Voted

The inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards saw Cristiano Ronaldo crowned world player the year.

The Real Madrid man enjoyed a brilliant year with club and country, and fought off competition from both Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann to scoop the award.

The winner was decided by votes from national captains and managers, who each picked, in order, their top three players of 2016.

A first placed pick is worth five points, second place is worth three points and third place is worth one point.

Below, we reveal who a selection of captains and managers voted for…

Cristiano Ronaldo of Portugal and Real Madrid kisses The Best FIFA Men's Player Award during The Best FIFA Football Awards at TPC Studio on January 9, 2017 in Zurich, Switzerland.
Ronaldo kisses the trophy (Photo: FIFA via Getty Images)


Lionel Messi (Argentina): 1. Suarez 2. Neymar 3. Iniesta.

Henrikh Mkhitaryan (Armenia): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann.

Dani Alves (Brazil): Messi, Neymar, Suarez.

Luka Modric (Croatia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar.

Wayne Rooney (England): Ronaldo, Suarez, Vardy.

Manuel Neue (Germanyr: Kroos, Ozil, Lewandowski.

Mesut Ozil was nominated multiple times (Photo: Stuart MacFarlane)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy): Messi, Bale, Ronaldo.

Arjen Robben (Netherlands): Ronaldo, Kroos, Lewandowski.

Steven Davis (Northern Ireland): Messi, Ronaldo, Griezmann.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal): Bale, Modric, Ramos.

Seamus Coleman (Republic of Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez.

Darren Fletcher (Scotland): Ronaldo, Suarez, Messi.

Jamie Vardy and Wayne Rooney
Wayne Rooney voted for Jamie Vardy (Photo: Action Images via Reuters)

Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia): Ronaldo, Messi, Neymar.

Sergio Ramos (Spain): Ronaldo, Messi, Iniesta.

Billy Forbes (Turks and Caicos): Vardy, Ronaldo, Messi.

Ashley Williams (Wales): Bale, Messi, Lewandowski.


Gareth Southgate (England): Ronaldo, Griezmann, Kante.

Michael O’Neill (Northern Ireland): Ronaldo, Messi, Griezmann.

Gareth Bale received numerous nominations (Photo: Denis Doyle)

Martin O’Neill (Republic of Ireland): Bale, Buffon, Kante.

Gordon Strachan (Scotland): Messi, Suarez, Aguero.

Chris Coleman (Wales): Bale, Sanchez, Vardy.

To see the full list, click here…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here